The Rowbotham’s Round Rotherham 50

Back in 2009, my Dad took on his first ever Rowbotham’s Round Rotherham 50 (RRR50). An ultra race, around the perimeter of our home town in South Yorkshire. The race first began in 1983 and is still going strong today, attracting both runners and walkers.

I was only 13 when my Mum and I supported my Dad on his first RRR50, but it was an event that will always stick with me. I was in awe and so inspired by my Dad and his fellow participants that I promised, one day I would do it one day and with him.

Flash forward a few years, 11 to be precise, and I was on that start line…

My family and I at the start line in 2021

I wanted to write a blog about the RRR50, not about my experience of walking the event in 2021, but of the event itself and why I think you should one day give it a go, or drop by to support.

The Route
Rotherham isn’t known for it’s rural surroundings, if anything it’s seen as quite industrial being so close to the ‘Steel City’ of Sheffield. Despite living in Rotherham for over 20 years, when I finally got round to completing sections of the RRR50, I couldn’t believe how rural and scenic the outskirts are. The route will take you alongside canals, rivers and lakes, through wetlands, farmers fields and woodlands, and even up through a golf course, around an airfield and through Roche Abbey. It’s varied to say the least, and keeps you interested. (Watch out for the flying golf balls)!

Rowbotham’s Round Rotherham is, for the most part waymarked, following much of the Rotherham Ring Route, but also based on the route devised by Ralph Rowbotham. You’ll find these little signs throughout.

Navigationally it’s pretty simple. Aside from the waymarking, the organisers provide strip maps, written descriptions and you can also download a GPX file. Even if you go wrong, providing you have the OS Maps for the area and take note of the checkpoints you’re heading to, you’ll be fine. You’re never too far from a road either.

The profile is steady. Over the 50 miles, there’s only 800m of ascent (according to the RRR50 site). Below is a screenshot of the profile I measured when completing the event in 2021.

The most notable ‘hills’ are at around 8m (up to Keppels Column), at 25m (immediately after Harthill Checkpoint, up some steps), at 40m (immediately after the Maltby checkpoint) and at 45m (immediately after the Hooton Roberts checkpoint).

The Distance
The Round Rotherham 50 is approximately 50 miles in length. But you can also take part as a relay. There are 8 legs (as shown below), and so can have up to 8 members in your team.

Note: If you arrive at a checkpoint before it opens, you will need to wait. If you’re going for a course record, let the organisers know.

So if you don’t feel up to the full 50 miles, you could do anywhere between 5 and 50. Grab your friends and family and enter as a relay instead. That way there’s no pressure on the distance, but you still get to be involved!

Volunteers
And if you don’t fancy running or walking, volunteers are always welcome!
The volunteers are a really key part in this event. Not only do they provide the food and drink and dib you in at each checkpoint, but they’ll give you some kind words of encouragement or give you the kick up the bum you may need.

There’s a core team who organise the event every year – Sharon, Brian, Henry and Kevin. They not only spend the entire day (from 3AM, through to long after midnight on the Sunday) ensuring the race goes smoothly, but spend numerous hours and days planning and coordinating the event in the lead up to October. A big thank you to those dedicated in making sure this event can happen, and that it can be the awesome event it is.

The checkpoints are very well stocked and the majority of the food and drink is donated from the volunteers themselves and other groups and charities from the local area. There’s plenty of sweet stuff as well as hot drinks and even soup on occasion. At the end, you’ll also get a meal (vegan/vegetarian and meat options available).

When I completed the RRR50 I wasn’t really up to much food at the end, so I had a plate of beans… just what I needed!

The Relaxed Atmosphere
Big named races sometimes seem quite intimidating and as though there is a strong pressure to ‘perform’ and ‘race’. I’ve always found myself at the back of the pack, walking and running. And with the RRR50, I feel just as welcome as those leading the pack.

The current record holder has returned numerous times to better his time, and finally cracked the 6 hour barrier in 2021. But there’s also us at the back finishing in around 20 hours. All meanwhile you have the relay teams speeding through all day long.

Walkers can start anytime between 4AM and 6AM, whilst runners can start from 6AM. Relays are a little later. Providing you start at 4AM, you have 20hours to complete. And even if you’re a little late, they’ll not be pulling you off the course, but helping you get to the finish. Cut offs are very generous, and you shouldn’t fear them. See above for the opening times of the checkpoints.

And if you can’t finish, well that’s OK too. Between 2000 and 2021, over 25% of all entrants have DNF’d. Now this may seem high (or it does to me), but I think it also shows that people take part with no pressure of finishing. You can go along and do as much or as little as you wish (a reason why you could enter as a relay team too).

In 2022 my Dad and I took part in the solo RRR50. We hadn’t done a great deal of training this year, for many reasons but still wanted to give it a go. My Dad made it to Checkpoint 2 (Treeton), and I made it to Checkpoint 4 (Woodsetts). We handed in our dibbers and dropped out. They do offer a lift back to the start but we had support crew on hand so could head on straight home. Sometimes people feel shame for DNF’ing, but we didn’t and were just glad we got as far as we could and could enjoy what we did complete.

Kit list
As long as you have your phone and a means to keep it charged, you’re good to go.
I would recommend taking the relevant OS Maps too!

Extra bits and bobs
– You’re allowed to park your campervan or motorhome on the beach at the Manvers and kip the night before and night of. Small tents are also allowed. Free of charge, just be sure to let the organisers know your registration numbers (in your entry form).
– You must be 20 on the day to run the 50 miles, or 18 for the relay.
– No dogs are allowed to participate in the race.
– No entries on the day.

They keep coming back…
You only have to look on the RRR50 website to realise people love the Rowbotham’s Round Rotherham 50. Entrants return year after year!

My Dad first ran his first RRR50 in 2009. He’s since returned as a runner 8 more times, and twice as a walker. Why? Let’s ask him…

“There are points along the way where I often asked myself why I kept coming back (sorry Rother Valley Country Park, but that stretch until you get out the other side is not nice).
The atmosphere is so friendly, all the volunteers are amazing and checkpoints well stocked and welcoming. The route is varied but, as Alannah alluded to, there are some industrial parts around Tinsley and Swinton.
I think I keep coming back as it really fills you with a feeling that you’ve really achieved something big. 50 miles is nothing to be sniffed at and even if you only do it once, you will never forget and be able to bore people to death with it at family and friend get-togethers.
I’ve finished 7 times so far and sort of determined if the body will allow, to get to 10. I’ll be there at the next one (which is the 40th staging), probably running it this time.
Seriously, give it a go (make sure you train though and maybe tackle it as a walk first time), you will not regret it. Looking forward to seeing you all on route next year”.

And it’s not just my Dad who has returned to the RRR50 numerous times. Over 10% of all entrants since 2000 are classed as ‘regulars’, those who have taken on the event 4 or more times. 18% have taken part 2 or 3 times. Those who have finished the event 10 and 20 times (70 people to date) are given a special award. (My life long goal…)

A Great Introduction to the Ultra Distance
50 miles is not to be scoffed at. And so you may be wondering why I think the RRR50 is a great introduction to the ‘ultra’ distance. Well it’s due to a combination of the above. The route and it’s profile, the ease of navigation, the support from fellow participants, organisers and volunteers as well as the relaxed atmosphere and lack of pressure.

Ready to sign up?

One thought on “The Rowbotham’s Round Rotherham 50

  1. I completed RRR50 for the first time this year & will definitely b back!
    For all the reasons you gave + it’s just nice to discover new places to run!

    Like

Leave a comment